矿山废弃物类型及处置方法

了解不同类型的矿山废物以及采矿作业完成后如何储存和处理。
浏览我们的采矿泵联系我们获取快速报价

采矿会产生大量浪费并不是什么秘密。 通过了解任何采矿作业及其运营规模,可以看出这一点。 事实上,在大多数情况下,您可能只会注意到实际的矿山废物,因为大部分实际操作都是在地下进行的。 矿山废弃物可能存在问题,因为它们含有危险物质,如果处理不当,可能会释放到环境中。 这些有害物质中的一些包括重金属,类金属,放射性废物,酸性水和加工化学品。

观看下面的视频,了解该如何发布 EDDY泵 擅长移动采矿作业中常见的高粘度材料。

岩石或固体废物

露天开采有几个阶段的浪费。 首先,为了进入矿石的实际接缝或矿脉,必须除去顶层岩石或覆盖层。 一旦去除覆盖层,就可以提取接缝。 在提取接缝时,额外的废石将被移除以到达实际的矿石,称为煤矸石。 然后,当材料被加工和精细研磨时,需要从现场移除称为尾矿的废物。

覆盖层 - >煤矸石 - >尾矿

废石或覆盖层是指通常大量的初始土壤和岩石被移除以便在采矿作业中获得有价值的矿床。 通常,对于每吨开采的矿石,必须替换5吨的覆盖层。 覆盖层不受任何化学过程的影响,但仍必须将其移除才能进入矿石。 覆盖层通常通过将其堆放在矿区附近的一个区域进行管理,该区域不会干扰正在进行的操作。 运输如此大量的材料是昂贵的,因此覆盖层存储在附近并且通常用于在矿井关闭时重新占用土地。

脉石

煤矸石是无价值的岩石或材料,与待处理的有价值材料紧密混合。 矿物与煤矸石的分离称为矿物加工。 通常,低效的加工方法可以产生仍然含有大量有价值矿物的脉石。 随着矿物质价值的增加,重新加工煤矸石以提取在第一次加工过程中可能遗漏的其他矿物质甚至可能是有利可图的。

我的尾矿

由于矿物加工,尾矿是精细研磨的岩石和其他矿物废料。 由于矿物的加工方式,尾矿中可能含有浓缩的加工化学品。 这可能使尾矿成为环境问题,因此适当的运输和处置至关重要。 因此,下一步是 泵尾矿 远离 渣浆泵 进入尾矿池塘。 尾矿池是由水坝和衬管封闭的沉淀池,用于捕获和储存废物。

液态矿山废物

矿井水

矿井水在矿区以不同的方式产生,污染程度也不同。 暴露于采矿过程的水通常也是酸性的,并且可以在称为酸性矿山排水(AMD)或酸性岩石排水(ARD)的过程中污染当地水源。 酸性矿山排水是全球地表水污染的重要原因。 AMD主要是在水流过硫化物重质材料,形成酸性溶液时引起的。 矿场的水通常受到严密监控,管理策略不仅用于减少矿井水的产生量,而且还用于在水被释放回环境之前对水进行处理。

水处理污泥

一些矿场产生污泥,与矿井废水类似,但增加了固体和加工化学品。 这些添加物将水变成更粘稠的污泥,然后可以将其从现场抽走。 由于大多数污泥几乎没有经济价值,因此它基本上作为废物处理。 在污泥富含有害或放射性物质的极端情况下,它可能被归类为危险废物,需要特殊的处理和处置方法。

酸性岩石排水污染的水

酸岩排水

矿山尾矿贮存场地

矿尾矿

矿山废物管理

采矿公司采用的废物管理技术通常受到当地政府和公众的严格审查。 不正当的处置方法和由此造成的环境破坏一直困扰着采矿业的历史。 这些行动给采矿和相关废料带来了负面的耻辱。 因此,许多国家现在要求矿工在获得采矿许可证之前准备完整的矿山废物储存提案。 为了确保长期储存稳定性并防止违反任何法规,矿山废物在过程的每一步都要经过精心管理。

采矿作业产生的废物量很大,由于废物量大,不可避免地会产生环境问题。 作为回应,采矿工程师开发了巧妙的废物管理方法,使采矿业成为少数积极回收自己废物的行业之一。 覆盖层用于后处理,塑造土地,以及作为建筑物和道路的建筑集料。 矿山尾矿可重复用于生产粘土,瓷砖,玻璃和混凝土。 矿井水经过处理,然后用于粉尘和颗粒物抑制,农业/工业用途以及冷却剂。

尽管有许多回收方法,但大部分矿山废物仍然存放在设施或废物场所。 这些设施的长期储存已成为现代矿山关闭的重要课题。 各种规定已经过去,要求废物多年,有时是几个世纪才能保持稳定。 这要求工程师开发存储方法以抵御洪水,暴风雨和地震等灾难性事件。

矿山废弃物,层次结构

持久的环境影响

采矿废物的主要环境影响包括在转变为尾矿池或废物储存区后土地流失以及酸性径流或其他污染沉积物进入当地环境。 废物的具体环境影响在很大程度上取决于材料成分,开采的矿石类型以及矿石的加工方式。 例如,开采重金属的煤矸石和尾矿可能含有高浓度的硫化物,这可能导致酸性岩石排水。 由于存在许多变数,采矿作业将需要根据与其生产的不同类型废物相关的法规制定自己的废物处理方法。 然而,值得注意的是,大部分采矿废物对环境是良性的,并且在采矿作业完成时通常用于重新填埋或塑造土地。

订购或获取选择帮助

让我们的销售或工程支持帮助您选择泥浆泵或采矿设备。 呼叫 619-258-7020

为什么EDDY泵更好 - 重点

该视频展示了EDDY泵如何输送高浆料和研磨材料。 特色疏通泵设备包括 远程操作子挖掘机, 潜水员操作 泵和一个 挖掘机附件挖泥泵.

Sales, Rentals 619-258-7020
English EN French FR Indonesian ID Japanese JA Portuguese PT Spanish ES Thai TH

Types of Mine Waste and Disposal Methods

Learn about different types of mine waste and how it is stored and handled after the mining operation has completed.

It’s no secret that mining can produce a lot of waste. This is evident by catching a glimpse of any mining operation and the scale at which they operate. In fact, in most cases, you’ll likely only notice the actual mine waste because the majority of the actual operation is occurring underground. Mine wastes can be problematic due to the fact they contain hazardous material that can be released into the environment if not properly handled. Some of these hazardous materials include heavy metals, metalloids, radioactive waste, acidic water, and process chemicals.

Water Contaminated by Acid Rock Drainage

acid-rock-drainage

Mine Tailings Storage Site

Mine-Tailings

Rock or Solid Mine Waste

Open pit mining has several stages of waste. First, to access the actual seams or veins of ore, the top layers of rock, or overburden, must be removed. Once the overburden has been removed, the seams can be extracted. When extracting the seams, the additional waste rock will be removed to get to the actual ore, called gangue. Then, as the material is processed and finely ground, even more, waste, called mine tailings, will need to be removed from the site.

Overburden -> Gangue -> Tailings

Overburden

Waste rock, or overburden, refers to the often large mass of initial soil and rock that is removed in order to get to the valuable mineral deposits in mining operations. Typically, for every ton of ore that is mined, 5 tons of overburden must be displaced. Overburden is not subjected to any chemical processes, but must still be removed in order to access ores. Overburden is usually managed by piling it on the nearby surface of mining sites in an area that will not interfere with ongoing operations. Transporting such large volumes of material is costly, so overburden is stored nearby and often used for revegetating the land upon closure of the mine.

Gangue

Gangue is the worthless rock or material that is closely mixed with the valuable material to be processed. The separation of mineral from gangue is called mineral processing. Often times, inefficient processing methods can produce gangue that still holds an ample amount of valuable minerals. As values of minerals increase, it can even be profitable to reprocess gangue to extract additional minerals that may have been missed during the first processing.

Mine Tailings

Tailings are finely ground rocks and other mineral waste as a result of mineral processing. Due to the way minerals are processed, tailings can contain concentrations of processing chemicals. This can make tailings an environmental concern, so proper transportation and disposal are crucial. Consequently, tailings are slurried and pumped away with slurry pumps into tailings ponds. Tailings ponds are sedimentation holding ponds enclosed by dams and liners to capture and store the waste.

Liquid Mine Waste

Mine Water

Mine water is produced in a few different ways at mine sites and can vary in levels of contamination. Water exposed to mining processes is also often acidic and can contaminate local water sources in a process called acid mine drainage (AMD) or acid rock drainage (ARD). Acid mine drainage is a heavy contributor to pollution of surface water across the globe. AMD is primarily caused when water flows over the sulfide-heavy material, forming an acidic solution. Water at mine sites is usually heavily monitored and management strategies are used to not only reduce the amount of mine water produced but also to treat the water before it is released back into the environment.

Water Treatment Sludge

Sludge is produced at some mine sites and is similar to mine wastewater, but has the additions of solids and processing chemicals. These additions turn the water into a more viscous sludge which can then be pumped away from the site. Since the majority of sludge has little economic value, it’s essentially handled as waste. In extreme cases where the sludge is rich in harmful or radioactive material, it may be classified as hazardous waste and require special handling and disposal methods.

Mine Waste Management

Waste management techniques employed by mining companies are routinely under intense scrutiny from local governments and the general public. Improper disposal methods and the resulting environmental damages have plagued the history of the mining industry. These actions have left a negative stigma associated with mining and associated waste materials. For this reason, many countries now require miners to prepare a complete mine waste storage proposal before a mining permit will even be granted. To ensure long-term storage stability and prevent breaking any regulations, mine waste is carefully managed at every step of the process.

The volume of waste from mining operations is high, and due to the large volumes of waste, environmental concerns will inevitably arise. In response, mining engineers have developed clever ways of waste management, making the mining industry one of the few that actively recycle their own waste. Overburden is used for reprocessing, contouring land, and as a construction aggregate for buildings and roads. Mine tailings are reused for producing clay, tiles, glass, and concrete. Mine water is treated and then used for dust and particulate suppression, agricultural/industrial use, and as a coolant.

Despite numerous recycling methods, the majority of mine waste is still stored in facilities or waste sites. The long-term storage of these facilities has become an important topic in modern mine closures. Various regulations have come to pass that require the waste to be stable for years, sometimes centuries. This requires engineers to develop storage methods to withstand catastrophic events like floods, heavy storms, and earthquakes.

mine-waste-heirarchy

Lasting Environmental Impact

The main environmental impacts of mining waste include the loss of land following its conversion to a tailings pond or waste storage area and the introduction of acidic runoff or other contaminated sediments into the local environment. The specific environmental impact of waste depends heavily on the materials composition, type of ore mined, and the way the ore is processed. For example, gangue and tailings from mining heavy metals could have a high concentration of sulfides which could cause acid rock drainage to occur. Due to the many variables, mining operations will need to develop their own methods of waste disposal in accordance with regulations pertaining to different types of waste they produce. However, it is worth noting that a large portion of mining waste is benign to the environment and is routinely used to revegetate or contour the land when the mining operation has been completed.

Why EDDY Pumps Are Better – Highlights

This video shows how EDDY Pump transports high slurry and abrasive materials. Featured dredge pump equipment includes the Remote Operated Subdredge, Diver Operated Pump and a Excavator Attachment Dredge Pump.

Order or Get Selection Help

Let our sales or engineering support help in your slurry pump or mining equipment selection. Call (619) 258-7020